Art Camacho’s school for life

BAAR/ENGELBERG/PFÄFFIKON

2018-10-art-camacho

„The short fat kid, that never gave up“ that’s how the US martial artist and director Art Camacho described himself during his visit in Switzerland.

“That’s why I was bullied at school. But when I watched a Bruce Lee movie, I knew: I wanted to do that too.” So he got to know and love the martial arts. The short, fat kid turned into a tall, slender, purposeful man. Then he then dived into the film scene with stunts and set big goals. With his perseverance he was booked frequently and worked his way up to stunt coordinator, assistant director, director and producer. His advice to everyone: “live your dream, never give up – and no excuses!”

Stephan Krellmann, of the martial arts school GKMAF Krellmann in Baar, took this to heart. Already at the first meeting with the “little fatso” in the US seven years ago, he was impressed by his dedication and passion. So the joy was enormous when the finances were sufficient to bring Art Camacho to Switzerland.

Krellmann also started with his love for martial arts. And like Camacho, the film world entranced him. Since three years, Krellmann has been working on the movie: “The Missing Code”. Instead of recruiting actors, martial artists from all over the world were invited. The international contacts that Krellmann had built up with his team gladly agreed. And when Krellmann informed them of the imminent visit of Camacho, flights from Germany, Portugal, Holland and England were quickly booked to Switzerland – nobody would want to miss out on such an experience.

Three full, labor-intensive days followed. Experiencing Camacho in his element was inspiring. His instructions “Can you do this? Yes or no, no excuses” were clear. No empty talk, it was the actions that counted. Very refreshing. Thus, the actors, extras and the film crew got to know not only the film world, but also learned advice for daily life.

The martial arts made the “short, fat kid” into a successful and purposeful man. Nobody is too old for that. Participate in a trial training in Kung Fu or Samurai in Baar and you will understand.

Art Camachos Lebensschule

BAAR/ENGELBERG/PFÄFFIKON

2018-10-art-camacho

“Der kleine, dicke, der nie aufgab” so bezeichnete sich der US-Kampfkünstler und Regisseur, Art Camacho, in seinen Gesprächen als er kürzlich in der Schweiz war.

“Ich wurde deswegen gehänselt in der Schule. Dann sah ich mir einen Bruce-Lee-Film an und wusste: das will ich auch.” So lernte er die Kampfkunst kennen und lieben. Aus dem kleinen, dicken wurde ein grosser, schlanker, zielgerichteter Mann. Als er dann in die Filmszene mit Stunts eintauchte, setzte er sich grosse Ziele. Mit seiner Ausdauer und Hartnäckigkeit wurde er oft gebucht und arbeitete sich hinauf zum Stunt-Koordinator, Assistenz Regisseur, Regisseur und Produzent. Sein Rat an alle “lebt euren Traum. Gibt nie auf – und keine Ausreden!”.

Das nahm sich Stephan Krellmann, von der Kampfkunstschule GKMAF Krellmann in Baar, zu Herzen. Bereits beim ersten Treffen mit dem “kleinen Dicken” in den USA vor sieben Jahren war er imponiert über dessen Hingabe und Leidenschaft. So war die Freude enorm, als die Finanzen reichten, Art Camacho in die Schweiz zu holen.

Denn auch Krellmann begann mit der Liebe zur Kampfkunst. Und wie Camacho, riss ihn die Filmwelt in seinen Bann. Seit drei Jahren nun dreht Krellmann an einem Agenten-Thriller: “The Missing Code”. Anstatt Schauspieler zu rekrutieren, wurden Kampfkünstler aus aller Welt dazu eingeladen. Die internationalen Kontakte, die Krellmann mit seinem Team aufgebaut hatten, willigten freudig ein. Und als Krellmann vom bevorstehenden Besuch Camachos informierte, wurden schnell Flüge von Deutschland, Portugal, Holland und England in die Schweiz gebucht – ein solches Erlebnis lässt sich keiner entgehen.

Drei volle, arbeitsintensive Tage folgten. Camacho in seinem Element zu erleben war inspirierend. Seine Anweisungen “Kannst du? Ja oder nein. Keine Ausreden” waren klar und deutlich. Kein leeres Gerede, Taten zählten. Erfrischend. So lernten die Darsteller, Statisten und die Filmcrew nicht nur die Filmwelt kennen, sondern auch Ratschläge fürs tägliche Leben.

Die Kampfkunst machte aus dem “kleinen, dicken” einen erfolgreichen und zielstrebigen Mann. Dazu ist keiner zu alt. Machen Sie mit an einem Probetraining in Kung Fu oder Samurai in Baar.